How to Delete Your Instagram Account
Deleting or deactivating your Instagram account can be a rather hidden feature. In this tutorial, you learn how to do both quickly and easily.
If you want support managing Meta accounts, producing a video, or anything else in your digital marketing campaign, Contact Us at Bean Media Productions so we can talk to you about your strategy
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I delete an Instagram account?
While having Instagram open on your phone, computer, or other device, navigate to your profile by clicking on your profile picture. From there, open the settings menu. At the top of the settings menu in Instagram, you will see Meta Accounts Center; open that up
While in Meta Accounts Center, select the last option, “Manage Accounts,” and select the account you wish to delete and the option “Deactivation or Deletion.” That will give you the option to deactivate or delete your Instagram account.
What does deleting my Instagram account do?
“Deleting your account is permanent. When you delete your Instagram account, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes, and followers will be permanently removed.” – Instagram
What does deactivating my Instagram account do?
“Deactivating your account is temporary, and it means your profile will be hidden on Instagram until you reactivate it through Accounts Center or by logging in to your Instagram account.” – Instagram
Will deleting my Instagram account delete my messages?
No, when you are deleting your Instagram account, it does not delete messages saved in other people’s inboxes; these can still be accessed
Will deleting my Instagram account delete my Threads account?
Yes, Threads accounts are connected directly and rely on your Instagram account to exist. You can delete your Threads account without deleting your Instagram account

